Here is the Republic of Rome errata and Q&A, courtesy of Dan Peters.  Anyone
who wants more should send e-mail requests to and  I don't know if these addresses are still valid.
 Each of these gentlemen compiled their own set of house rules which you
may find interesting.

Forwarded message:
> From Sat Apr  1 23:00:02 1995
> Date: Sat, 1 Apr 95 20:02:49 PST
> From: (Dan Peters)
> Message-Id: <>
> To:
> Subject: Re: Republic of Rome house rules?
> Newsgroups:
> References: <3lfd8c$>
> In you write:
> >  A while back some people sent me some great compilations of Republic of
> >Rome errata, Q&A, and house rules.  I have this material on hardcopy only
> >now.  I just encountered someone on the Net (two someones actually) who
> >would like this information.  Would someone please e-mail this
> >information to me again so I may pass it on to these new players?  Thanks.
> Here are the errata & Q&A.  I think I may have lost Chris Farrell's house
> rules.
> -Dan
> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 Complete Official Republic of Rome Q&A

 Includes all Q&A on the sheet stamped 1/29/93, and all official answers
 I have received. I am preparing another batch to send of the AH, so if you
 have questions that aren't answered here, please e-mail me.

 I apologize for any typeos, etc. These were hand copied from the original
 sheet, so I probably made some minor mistakes. Let me know and I'll correct
 them for future editions.

 If there is enough interest in maintaining a RoR FAQ, I could be convinced
 to manage it. Let me know what kind of FAQ's should be on it and send me
 your answers :-)

 (CAVEAT: I have truncated or clarified some of the Q&A, and eliminated
 some of the excessively stupid ones and one where the answer given was in
 flagrant violation of the rules. However, I did keep in anything else on the
 sheet, even where it made little sense. I especially dislike the answers
 for persuasion and assassinations involving the FL. I heartily reccomend
 you make your own house rules where the Q&A came back odd. I strongly
 believe that the answerer was not someone familiar with the game and
 just tried to answer right out of the rulebook - and many of the
 questions I sent in were sent in because the rules seemed to make no
 sense. As many of you will no doubt appreciate, I have avoided
 editorializing except for this paragraph :-)

 3.III Is there only one round of bidding for each additional initiative?
 A: Yes.

 3.III.4: Can a player appoint a Faction Leader and sponsor Games in the
 same initiative?
 A: No.

 5.1 Clarification: Mortality chits are not returned to the cup until
 after the draw is complete, except for the draw 2 chits, which are
 returned immediately. All chits are returned after the draw is complete.

 5.3 & 9.84: Upon the death of a faction leader, can the player
 immediately appoint a new one, or must he wait until the next forum
 A: The latter.

 5.3: In the rare case that a faction is eliminated entirely, what
 happens to its cards "in hand"?
 A: Return them to the deck and reshuffle.

 6.1: Does a captive senator receive personal or concession income?
 A: No.

 6.1: Personal Revenue: According to the sequence of play, Contributions
 to the state are made before money can be redistributed. So why does the
 book claim that "game consequences are such that it makes no difference
 to which Senator(s) of a Faction the money is given at this point"?
 A: 6.3 refers to Distributions between factions.  Money can actually be
 given to any Senator of your own faction in 6.1.

 6.12: After the Calpurnian Law is played, are the talents collected from
 the fine paid to the State treasury?
 A: No. They are returned to the bank.

 6.14: Do Rebel Governors roll for province improvement?
 A: No.

 6.141: Bithynia-Pontus: Can Bithynia be improved in the normal way? Does
 Bithynia-Pontus turn back to its undeveloped side if it is overrun by
 barbarians, or conquered by a war card and reconquered by Rome?
 A: Yes. Yes.

 6.22: Do wars such as the Jugurthine war, which do not indicate the
 subtraction of 20T, still cost the State 20T in the Revenue phase.
 A: Yes.

 6.22 & 9.674: Can a Senator not in Rome still be prosecuted?
 A: No. In general, a Senator away from can Rome cannot do anything in
 Rome except make contributions and sponsor games.

 6.3: Is Faction income distributed simultaneously? Can a Senator absent
 from Rome take part in the distribution? Are previously allocated funds
 available for re-allocation?
 A: Yes. Yes. Yes.

 7.31: Does a Statesman take over any Prior Consul marker on his Family
 A: Yes.

 7.312: Does P. Cornelius Scipio negate Hannibal's standoff/disaster
 numbers, or just those associated with the Punic War cards?
 A: Only those of the Punic War cards - not those of enemy leaders.

 7.32: Concessions: May a senator opt not to take income on a concession?
 A: No, but once received he could pledge to donate it to a worthy cause.

 7.33: Is a war (if not inactive) considered Unprosecuted immediately
 when drawn, or does it wait until that turn's Combat Phase is over
 before (possibly) becoming Unprosecuted?
 A: The latter.

 7.331: ERRATA: Add Fleet after Army in the third line.

 7.332 defines matching wars as those with matching illustrations, but
 some such wars do not say anything about having any matching wars. Does
 the Alexandrine War match the Syrian War?
 A: No - delete "those with matching illustrations".

 7.37: Is an Intrigue card which is traded outside the Revolution phase
 and placed beneath the board edge subject to selection due to the play
 of the Influence Peddling card?
 A: Yes, but in this case, it must be returned to the hand prior to the
 random draw, and returned beneath the board edge immediately after
 regardless of who holds it.

 7.4: May a senator not in Rome sponsor games? Can Popularity of a
 Senator go above 9?
 A: Yes. Yes.

 7.511: Do historically opposed statesmen still retain their +7 for
 A: Yes.

 7.511: Is the Flamininus the triggers Cato the Elder's loyalty drop
 Flaminius (13) or Flamininus (18A)?
 A: 18A. The loyalty drop does not appear on card 18A but it should.

 7.511: Is it true that if Statesman A is opposed to Statesman B, that
 the reverse is also true?
 A: No.

 9.11 & 9.34: Is the Censor considered the Presiding Magistrate in a
 prosecution and thus subject to the loss of one influence if a proposed
 prosecution is voted down unanimously?
 A: Yes, however the Prosecutor is not subject to any such loss.

 9.22: Can a Senator play a tribune to make a proposal to adjourn the
 A: No.

 9.24 & 9.91: Can a Senator refuse to be Master of Horse?
 A: No.

 9.34: If the HRAO steps down due to unanimous defeat of his proposal,
 does he resign his office, or does he simply pass control of the meeting
 to the next HRAO? If the latter, when (if ever) does he become HRAO again?
 A: The latter. He doesn't.

 9.411: Does a successful Minor Prosecution strip the prosecuted Senator
 of any office he is currently holding?
 A: No.

 9.412: Can the Censor name himself Prosecutor?
 A: No.

 9.421: Does an exiled Senator lose Negative popularity also?
 A: No. He loses only positive popularity.

 9.34: Does a player who proposed a motion with a tribune lose one
 influence if the motion is voted down unanimously?
 A: No.

 9.41: May a senator be prosecuted twice for the same offense?
 A: No, but he may be prosecuted twice for separate offenses.

 9.423: Does the faction that cast the most votes for a Statesman's
 return and makes a successful persuasion attempt vs. the Statesman also
 get the family card if it belongs to another faction?

 A: Yes - even if it is the faction leader.

 7.512-514: Persuasion Attempts: Can the persuader use faction treasury
 as well as personal treasury to help his attempt? (Both 7.512 and 7.514
 read as if he cannot, but the literal reading of 7.513, "_All_ players
 may interfere in a Persuasion Attempt ... by spending money from their
 Faction Treasuries to aid or resist the Persuasion Attempt", indicates
 that he can.). Can non-involved factions spend talents to aid the
 persuasion attempt?
 A: No. Yes.
 (I can't resist editorializing here. Ignore this Q&A. The correct
 answers are No, No. A Yes answer to part II opens up horrible rules
 rapes. 7.512 and 7.514 should agree with 7.513, in that non-involved
 parties may only defend the target senator. Any other ruling would be

 9.611A: In which phase are concessions destroyed by the 2nd Punic War
 or the Gladiator Slave Revolt?
 A: The Senate Phase.

 9.64: Can the same legion be disbanded and rebuilt during the same
 Senate phase?

 A: No.

 9.62: Multiple Governorship Elections: If such a package deal is
 voted down, are the candidates considered rejected for purposes of the
 last-available-candidate rule?
 A: Only as part of the same package.

 9.64: How is the status of Veteran legions determined when sending
 forces to a particular war?
 A: If the proposal failed to specify the makeup of the forces, the
 commander(s) of the force(s) may chose, dicing for veterans if they
 cannot agree.

 9.67: Can Consul for Life nominations be made without the use of a
 Tribune or the consent of the presiding magistrate?
 A: No.

 9.72: Can a Tribune veto a dictator's appointment or election?
 A: No, yes.

 9.8: May a faction assassinate one of it's own senators?
 A: No.

 9.83: Are re-rolls for possible capture modified by the played Assassin
 and Bodyguard cards?
 A: Yes.

 9.84: If neither the Censor nor prosecutor are involved in an
 assassination, who determines the voting order?
 A: The Censor.

 9.51: Can more than one Dictator Election be held if the first is
 A: Yes, but as one does not have to be elected, 9.23 doesn't apply.

 9.84: May the FL be an assassin? If so, if the caught assassin is
 the Faction Leader, who ia considered the FL for the purpose of the
 subsequent prosecution and loss of 5 Influence? What if the faction leader
 is not in Rome? Is he recalled to be prosecuted?
 A: Yes. No-one. No.

 9.92, 10.7: If a Dictator becomes a Proconsul, what happens to his
 Master of Horse?
 A: He returns to Rome without office.

 10.12: If Rome sends a Naval force with no legions, and is victorious in
 a naval battle, must the return to Rome or can he remain in the field as
 a proconsul and conduct the land war in the next turn?
 A: He must return to Rome. By being given no legions he was not
 entrusted with the conduct of the land war and has no claim to it.

 10.4: When a Naval Battle is won, how much popularity is gained - half
 the Naval Strength, or half the Army Strength?
 A: Half the Naval strength.

 10.4: Leaders & Wars:  If Hamilcar and the 1st Punic War are defeated by
 Rome before the 2nd Punic War is drawn, is Hamilcar killed immediately
 or does he wait around for the 2nd Punic War?
 A: The latter, but he must make an aging dr every turn.

 10.6: Can the returning legions/fleets be used elsewhere in the same
 A: Yes.

 10.7: If a Dictator and Master of Horse both rebel, may they add their
 military ratings in the Civil War?
 A: Yes.

 10.72: ERRATA: The Unrest level is increase by one at the *start* of
 every *Population* phase.

 10.82: When a commander is captured, when is the ransom paid?
 A: Anytime prior to the defeat of the war, or except for barbarian raids
 which must be paid before the next forum phase.

 10.9: In what order do multiple commanders attack their common war?
 A: The order is determined randomly by a dice roll.

 11.1: May a player discard a statesman instead of playing/trading it?
 A: Yes.

 12.1A/12.3: Does a Senator who reaches 35 Influence or is elected Consul
 for Life still win if captured by a war on the same turn?
 A: No.

 12.32: Civil War Winner: In the case where a rebel wins conditionally
 upon eliminating enough of the remaining war cards, under what
 circumstances is his rebellion considered "still ongoing"? Presumably if we
 get to invoke this rule at all, the rebel should
 already have won the civil war...? i.e., if the rebellion is one of four
 ongoing wars, must he still defeat one (to bring the total non-civil
 wars down to 2) in order to claim victory?
 A: He has not defeated the Senate's army. No ... he could have won
 through bankruptcy or people's revolt. Yes.

 13.21: May the PM be a priest?
 A: No.

 14.2-.3: Are local taxes that are not sufficient to purchase even one
 unit simply lost if not supplemented by the Governor or Senate?
 A: Yes.

 14.4: Do all bracketed provinces lose all taxes, even though the war
 card will only attack one per turn?
 A: Yes.

 14.41: The rule says Provincial Armies. Does it hold true for fleets
 as well?
 A: No.

 14.41-.411: The provincial forces increase the strength of the war, but
 are they still removed at double rate?
 A: No.

 14.411: Is the printed strength of a province card which is added to
 the strength of a victorious war subject to doubling or tripling for
 matching wars?
 A: No.

 14.413: Provincial Wars: Is there any popularity or influence gain when
 a governor defeats a war?
 A: Yes - the same as for any military leader.

 16.51: Can a player use money to increase his votes as in the regular
 A: Not for the purpose of putting together a ruling coalition.

 16.51: Is the tie breaker use of money pertaining to the respective
 faction treasuries, or all the treasuries of that faction?
 A: The latter.

 16.76: When would a Neutral use the blackmail/seduction cards?
 A: Automatically when dr votes. whatever faction has the most votes

 Vatinian Law: The law says that a senator *may* govern by legate.  May
 he return to the province? When may he leave for/return from the
 province? If the province is attacked in his absence, what military
 rating is used? When is the senator subject to prosecution/fining for
 taking personal income - when he is in Rome, or only when his term has
 expired? May he rebel with all of his provinces, or must he choose only
 one?  If a senator rebels (as a governor or as a commander), what
 happens to any provinces he is governing by legate? Do they rebel too,
 or do they return to the forum?
 A: Yes. He may leave any time during the senate phase, and if he goes,
 must remain there until the start of the next senate phase or until
 recalled. None. Both. He must chose one. The latter.

 Calpurnian Law:  What happens to a senator who does not have enough in
 his personal treasury to pay the fine?
 A: His faction treasury must pay.  In unable to, his Popularity and
 Influence are reduced by an amount equal to the shortfall.

 Cleopatra:  Is Cleopatra discarded at the end of the turn, or when the
 Alexandrine War is finally defeated?
 A: The latter, but is playable only once - once played it stays in play
 until the Alexandrine War ends.

 Crassus: What income does Crassus double?
 A: He doubles only personal revenue and concession income.

 Pompey: When is his military rating rolled? Once when played, before
 each combat, once a turn, or at some other time? If rolled before
 combat, how is minimum force determined in the Senate Phase?
 A: Before each combat. His military is considered the minimum of 2.